A tale of a unemployed lawyer: He’s neither seasoned or a new law graduate

Random conversation with an elderly lady. She stated that her grandson was a law graduate from Villanova University from a few years ago. So I’m assuming between three and four years. His parents (her son and daughter in-law) told her grandson that they were willing to pay for all of his undergraduate studies but if he wanted to attend law school he was on his own.

The 0L at the time probably thought he was ahead of the game. Though he has graduated with thousands of dollars less in debt than his contemporaries or his predecessors who have accumulated interest on their student loans, did he really stay ahead? He’s about four years from law school, no legal experience  and would have been better off taking that Bachelor’s degree and working his way into a company. Though my suggestion is a fading trend as most jobs are being outsourced regardless of the educational requirement. I remember reading a news article saying that the next time you’re at a resort or hotel the waiter serving you poolside might be an accountant, let’s add lawyer to the list.

3 Comments »

  1. ZeroSum Ruler Said:

    This morning I got an email from a woman who runs a tutoring company. I had sent her my resume about two weeks ago in hopes I could pick up a few hours tutoring kids in math and science. I got a response back from her asking me to delete one of my [many] blog posts because it didn’t fit the image her clientele. I’m lucky that I don’t need a job right now and that I am just looking for work to fill my long, boring days. But it got me thinking about other people. How many people feel ashamed of themselves these days? How many people are out there breaking their backs to conform to some entitled view paying $15/hour with no healthcare? Even in this time of jobs hard to find, never, ever, ever let someone take away your dignity.
    http://zerosumruler.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/my-experience-with-ms-entitled-fists-up-nation-unemployed/

  2. You almost described the male version of myself Nando… well, the bus thing and fumbling through a briefcase at least.. and the busted ass suit and shoes. UGH. I hate my life.

  3. Nando Said:

    Sadly, quite a few unemployed college grads look up to “people’s lawyers.” You know, the licensed starving attorney who sits in the back of the bus, fumbling through a full briefcase. (Often, the guy is wearing an old-ass suit, busted-up shoes, and subsists on a high-sodium diet of chocolate Coco Puffs and Top Ramen.) This person is typically prematurely balding, has bad posture, and proudly speaks with a nasally voice when talking about his legal aid toilet job. Why would anyone look up to a 36-year-old loser who rents a shoddy studio basement apartment?!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

